Priority Axis 3 - Connected Region

Overview

Overview

Project Summary

Ports are hubs connecting different types of transport systems at global and regional level. However, transshipment operations and passengers’ mobility have significant impact on the environment, especially on air quality, water and noise pollution as well as CO2 emissions. For this reason,  ports  can act as drivers for the implementation of more efficient and greener transport policies. In particular, ports can increase their sustainability by following a methodology that helps them in detecting their environmental impact and identify ways to reduce their carbon and ecological footprint.

SUPAIR project responds to such challenge by supporting port authorities in the implementation of low-carbon and multimodal transport and mobility solutions within a macro-regional context. The transnational dimension is ensured by the partnership, which pulls together 7 ports of the Adriatic-Ionian region (namely Trieste, Venice, Koper, Bar, Durres, Thessaloniki and Piraeus) and research as well as public institutions in charge of transport.

SUPAIR will establish a network of ADRION low-carbon ports committed to exchange on good practices regarding soft and hard environment-friendly solutions for a greener, safer and more efficient transport system.

Further to that, a common step by step Transnational Methodology, will serve as basis to develop 7 action plans for sustainable and low-carbon port, covering a broad range of fields (clean shipping, green upgrading of port machinery, installation of emission control systems, truck flow management, etc.). The Plans will be designed considering local port operations and needs in order to identify tailor made solutions. The project will also develop a transnational strategy for low carbon transport systems in the Adriatic-Ionian basin.

Benefits for the involved territories are many, such as the enhanced technical capacity for ports to plan and implement sustainable action plans as well as low-carbon and environment-friendly port transport and mobility solutions, the increased empowerment of relevant local organizations and institutions.

INFORMATION

Call

ADRION - FIRST CALL FOR PROPOSALS

Project Acronym

SUPAIR

Project Number

33

Programme Priority

3) Connected Region

Specific objective

Enhance capacity for integrated transport and mobility services and multimodality in the Adriatic-Ionian area

Start – End Date

2018-01-01 – 2019-12-31

Total budget

EUR 1,448,707.45

EU contribution:
ERDF budget

EUR 1,052,948.26

IPAII budget

EUR 178,453.05

Project Social media

Project partnership

Lead partner       Project partner

LEAD PARTNER

Area Science Park
Project Management Office

Address
Padriciano, 99 | 34149 – Trieste
ITALIA
Contact person
Mr. Fabio Tomasi, fabio.tomasi@areasciencepark.it

PROJECT PARTNERS

Centre for Research and Technology Hellas
Hellenic Institute of Transport (HIT)

Address
6th km Charilaou – Thermi Road, | 57001 – Thermi - Thessaloniki
ΕΛΛΑΔΑ (ELLADA)
Contact person
Ms. Maria Boile, boile@certh.gr

Durres Port Authority
Projects Coordination Unit

Address
Rruga Tregtare Lagjja, 1 | 2001 – Durres
ALBANIA
Contact person
Ms. Serena Kovaci, s.kovaci@apdurres.com.al

Luka Koper, port and logistic system, public limited company
Department for strategic development

Address
Vojkovo nabrežje, 38 | 6501 – Koper
SLOVENIJA
Contact person
Mr. Roberto Richter, roberto.richter@luka-kp.si

North Adriatic Sea Port Authority
Strategic Planning and Development Department – EU Project Unit

Address
Santa Marta, Fabbricato 13, | 30123 – Venice
ITALIA
Contact person
Mr. James Orlandi, james.orlandi@port.venice.it

Piraeus Port Authority S.A.
Administration Directorate

Address
Akti Miaouli, 10 | 185 38 – Piraeus
ΕΛΛΑΔΑ (ELLADA)
Contact person
Mr. Dimitrios Spyrou, dspyrou@olp.gr

Port Network Authority of the Eastern Adriatic Sea

Address
via K. L. Von Bruck, 3 | 34144 – Trieste
ITALIA
Contact person
Mr. Alberto Cozzi, acozzi@porto.trieste.it

Port of Bar Holding Company
Development and Cargo handling Department / Development Division

Address
Obala 13 jula bb, | 85000 – Bar
ЦРНА ГОРА (CRNA GORA)
Contact person
Mr. Deda Đelović, deda.djelovic@lukabar.me

Thessaloniki Port Authority SA

Address
Pier A, Port of Thessaloniki, | 54012 – Thessaloniki
ΕΛΛΑΔΑ (ELLADA)
Contact person
Ms. Eva Vafaki, evafaki@thpa.gr

Venice International University
TeDIS Center – TLSU Unit

Address
Isola di San Servolo, | 30100 – Venice
ITALIA
Contact person
Mr. Marco Mazzarino, marco.mazzarino@univiu.org